Learning Log – Twitter

13 Feb

So far I am really enjoying this module.  I am thrilled about my iGoogle homepage.  I love having everything in one place.  Google docs & forms are going to revolutionize how I collaborate, assess and gather data.

Regarding Twitter, I had no idea how essential it could be for my professional development.  I already feel like I’m “in the know” and I haven’t even really begun.  In Ernie Cox’s article, “Building a Future-Ready Professional Learning Network”, the idea of coordinating or being a part of a “tweetup” with other educators to discuss the 21st Century Learning Standards, for example, is awesome.  I know this is probably rare but it still intrigues me.  Now, I don’t have to feel alone in my thoughts about what I’m studying.  I can blog, tweet, comment, post, or whatever about it.  That’s a good feeling . . . knowing there are other professionals out there who are passionate about the same things I am passionate about.

3 Responses to “Learning Log – Twitter”

  1. mgaudino February 14, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    I couldn’t live without my iGoogle page! Did you know that MCPS uses Twitter to announce county-wide events? http://twitter.com/#!/mcps

  2. slm508jw February 15, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    I’m enjoying this module also. There is a lot of “substance” in the technologies of this module. I’m still not sold on Twitter, though. I guess I really just don’t like sound bites, and that’s what Twitter reminds me of. Do you prefer following educators on Twitter or following blogs? Where do you think the content is better?

    • nikkisantos36 February 15, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      I will definitely begin following MCPS. I follow a couple of librarian blogs but mostly I follow organizations related to librarianship like ALA TechSource. I like the content on both. The blogs link to interesting articles and the organizations supply me with important trends and/or developments in the field.

Leave a Reply

