Learning Log – End of Module 2

6 Feb

I have to say this was a challenging module, too.  I know I spent 3-5 hours daily working on processing, understanding, and completing the tasks.  I was totally intimidated by the screencast and digital story.  I kept thinking, I have to do what?  Well, using PhotoStory was so simple!  Oh, and Donovan will be completing one for his autobiography project.  I’m also going to do a screencast on how to use PhotoStory even though it is super easy to use.

My favorite resource is the University of Houston’s site on digital storytelling.  I love how it suggests other programs to use like Audacity for audio.  I can’t wait to listen to the screencasts of each groups recommended Web 2.0 tools.  The NETS and 21st Century Student standards have really begun to hit home with me.  My own children and students need to be taught these skills and see them being demonstrated by me.  Anytime there’s a teachable moment, I need to grab it.  My mission this week is to find out what is and is not allowed in school regarding these Web 2.0 tools.  However, that won’t stop me from teaching other skills like digital citizenship and research and information fluency.

Leave a Reply

